For the first time since I joined this county,I have seen the county really invest in culture and Goodness did I enjoy. I did not know that a pure cultural event could be so fun and interesting, it shocked me.

I saw the Mwazindika, from lushangonyi,saghalla,mwakingali, Bura etc and it was always interesting to just watch.

Can you believe that even somalis did a dance,The Luo’s were not left behind,you know how they do it.

The Taveta,woooow, the song and dances the same but everyday it’s refreshing to watch Urwasi.

Personally,I had interest with the saghalla (My maternal grandmother is one) and trust me ,I learnt,saw them dance,ate their food,it felt fulfilling I even bought my grandmother a swahili shawl with shaghalla words engraved.

This noble idea was by the Hon Bigvai Mwailemi CECM Youth,Gender,Sports and Culture and It was a tick supported by the committee chair of the same docket in the county assembly Hon Omar Nguzo.

From left Hon Bigvai , Hon Omar of Kaloleni Ward and Hon Omar Nguzo the Chair and MCA Challa Ward.

Very very Good work Boss but please,next time,can we have the Kamba hugely involved, we can not run away from the fact that Kambas are part and parcel of this County,whether it was an oversight or a logistic issue,let’s see to it that they are present,I would love to learn this culture.

In short can we have other main tribes or minor included too,I did not see the Pare,I would have really loved to see the pare,I would have wished to taste their food like (wughai bwa makafi) and see how they dance to their songs.

Can you imagine the youth enjoying a cultural events, they did,Totally, It was a fun way of enjoying and learning culture and they did embraced it.

Some leaders were present danced and ate the food,some bought artefacts,and honestly,to me,the day was 99.9% successful.

Shout out to Mamasita, Mama County 006, I saw you sample different Taita and Taveta cuisine.I saw you dance to kajogholo, you totally enjoyed this.

Hon Lydia Haika in a full maasai regalia.

Ma’am Shuwe, you totally let go and had fun,you even had no shoes on while dancing,woooow,I think if there’s one who enjoyed the event,it was you….You danced to almost all groups.

Hon Anastancia Wakesho,I guess yesterday you were home,you have wanted this for long, at last it happened,Blessings.

Hon Anastancia Dancing Urwasi,The Taveta Dance.

The CECM for education Hon Daniel Makoko was also present during the event and the host MP hon Mlolwa was not left behind,
The chief guest of the Event was H.E Majala Mlaghui ,Deputy governor Taita Taveta.

From left Hon Shuwe,Hon Mlolwa and Hon Makoko
Hon Lilian Machocho.

Hon Machocho was in the house,and second to hon shuwe,she danced ,Totally enjoyed herself.

From left,Hon Anastancia, Hon Bertina and Hon Omar Nguzo.

Loyce shali and team,yee who did not sleep just to make this event a success, kudos team,This was a job well done. I am nothing but happy and Proud of you.

The MC’S of the day, Javan aka Mwana wa kidasi cha Mbeo and Innocent Kirigha,you did well,you surely made the day a success.

Tukutane Taveta next year.

Thank you Rogim Photography.

H,E Majala Mlaghui, The chief guest,
H.E Majala Mlaghui giving her speech yesterday.

Below are more photos of the event.

MC Kirigha dancing to Mwazindika.

MC Kidasi.